The MWSS held a Recognition Ceremony on 23 September 2016 to honor the volunteers and rescuers who participated in the joint search, rescue and retrieval operations on August 13 to 30, 2016 in the aftermath of the accident on the Sumag River Diversion Project on 13 August 2016. The ceremony which was held at the MWSS office in Balara, Quezon City was a joint undertaking of the MWSS and its concessionaires Manila Water (MWCI) and Maynilad. The Sumag Diversion Project is an undertaking of the three (3) agencies under the Common Purpose Facilities (CPF) framework of the Concessionaire Agreement.

Before the actual ceremony, a Holy Mass was celebrated in commemoration of the eight casualties of the flooding accident and helicopter crash. Sixteen rescuers, mostly from the 48th Infantry Battalion of the Philippine Army were given Plaques of Appreciation.  The Plaques for the two rescuers who died in the rescue operations were received by their respective families. Present to give the plaques of appreciation and to deliver key messages were the following officials: Sr. Deputy Administrator Nathaniel Santos, Deputy Administrators Zoilo Andin and Leonor Cleofas, all of MWSS, and representing the CPF are MWCI Group Director Geodino Carpio, Engr. Ronald Padua of Maynilad, Engr. Mario Rodriguez of MWCI (emcee) and Engr. Jose Dorado of MWSS (emcee).

The following are the 16 recipients: a) From the 48th Infantry Batallion, Philippine Army: Lt Colonels  Yacob M. Usman, Ramil B. Anoyo; 1Lt. Giovannie Jade S. Pagaduan; 2Lts Ahmad T. Matawag, Jan Miguel T. Jamelarin, Roberto G. Apelado Jr.; SSgt Orlando A. Tangaro, Cpl. Manuel A. Fernandez; b) From the Philippine Air Force: 1Lt. Mark Joel J. Delos Reyes; c) From Macro Asia: Capt. Miguel C. Logronio (+) (pilot) and Engr. Jay Erlan R. Gregorio (+) (Note: both perished in the helicopter crash), Capt. Jose Orlando O. Oliva (Director for Operations), Dindo Ylagan (Gen. Mgr); c) From Pureforce: Capt. Jose Maria Consunji, Jomerito S. Soliman (Chief Executive Officer); d) From Philex Mining Corporation: Engr Roosevelt Rosalin.