Manila Water Company Inc. (MWCI)


Manila Water Company Inc. (MWCI) is a joint venture between Ayala Corporation and two foreign companies, the United Utilities of the United Kingdom and the Mitsubishi Corporation of Japan. The employees of Manila Water also own 6% shares of the company stocks through its Employees Stocks Option Program (ESOP).

Manila Water is one of the two Concessionaires tapped by the government, through a bidding process in 1997, to operate the water utilities in eastern Metro Manila and nearby province of Rizal. It is tasked to supply water, manage the distribution system, and improve and expand the east zone concession area for 25 years.

Its franchise area includes Mandaluyong, Marikina, Pasig, Pateros, San Juan, Taguig, Makati, and parts of Quezon City and Manila. It also services Antipolo City and the Rizal towns of Angono, Baras, Binagonan, Cainta, Cardona, Jala-Jala, Morong, Pililla, Rodriquez, Tanay, Taytay, and San Mateo.

Manila Water has 7 business areas, namely: Balara Business Area, Cubao Business Area, Makati Business Area, Marikina Area, Pasig Business Area, San Juan-Mandaluyong Business Area, and Taguig-Pateros–Rizal Business Area.


Maynilad Water Services Inc. (MWSI)


Maynilad Water Services Inc. (MWSI) won the right to operate the franchise area for 25 years (1997-2022) for the treatment and distribution of potable water in the West zone area on 1 August 1997.

Originally, Maynilad was a partnership between the Benpres Holdings Corporation, the flagship company of the Lopez group, and Suez Lynnaise des Eaux of France, a prominent leader in the water industry, supplying drinking water to millions of people worldwide. However, in 2006, because of the financial and economic downturn experienced by its previous owners, MWSS and the Lopez group agreed to pre-terminate their contract.

In December of the same year, D.M. Consunji Inc (DMCI) and Metro Pacific Investments Corporation (MPIC) won the bid for 84% of the Maynilad shares and the unexpired term of the Lopez group.

Maynilad manages and operates the water and waste-water services in the cities of Manila (except San Andres), Pasay, Paranaque, Caloocan, Muntinlupa, Las Pinas, Valenzuela, and parts of Makati and Quezon City, including the municipalities of Navotas and Malabon. Its franchise area also covers Cavite City, and its municipalities of Bacoor, Imus, Kawit, Noveleta, and Rosario.

Maynilad has 4 business areas, namely: Northeast Business Area, Northwest Business Area, Central Business Area, and South Business Area.


Luzon Clean Water Development Corporation (LCWDC)

The province of Bulacan is within the service area of MWSS since 1991.  In 1993 then President Fidel V. Ramos, acting through then Chief Presidential Legal Counsel Antonio T. Carpio, approved MWSS Resolution No. 220-02, dated 21 December 1992, providing for the inclusion of Bulacan in the service area of MWSS for the explicit purpose of allowing MWSS to supply bulk water thereto. This 1993 approval was later confirmed by current Executive Secretary Paquito N. Ochoa, Jr. on 29 October 2012. Since the purpose of the inclusion of Bulacan in the service area of MWSS is for the explicit purpose of allowing MWSS to supply bulk water thereto, this created an obligation on the part of MWSS to supply bulk water to the WDs.  It also provided legal justification for MWSS and the Water Districts (WDs) to enter into Memorandum of Agreement (MOAs), either as a standalone agreement or through the Build-Operate-Transfer (BOT) Project as one integrated project.

On December 7, 2015, MWSS awarded to the consortium of San Miguel Corp. (SMC) and South Korean company K-Water Resources Corp, the Build-Operate-Transfer Contract, which provides for the implementation under a public-private partnership modality the financing, construction, operation, and maintenance of the Bulacan Water Supply Project (BBWSP), a project that will supply treated water in the North Concession comprising of 24 WDs/Water Service Providers (WSP) in Bulacan Province.

On January 15, 2016, MWSS executed a 30-year Concession Agreement (CA) with LCWDC (SMC and K-Water consortium), for the Bulacan Bulk Water Supply Project (BBWSP).  The LCWDC under the CA will finance, design, construct, operate, manage, maintain, repair/refurbish the facilities (infrastructure and utilities for the abstraction, treatment, and conveyance) and eventually transfer title to MWSS.   In addition, LCWDC as MWSS’ contractor/agent will supply treated bulk water to WDs from MWSS’ 2.6 CMS raw water rights in the Angat Reservoir.

The BBWSP has three (3) stages in different localities around the Province of Bulacan. The two stages: Stage 1 (Balagtas, Bocaue, Marilao, Meycauayan, Obando, and San Jose del Monte City) commenced commercial operations on January 24, 2019; while Stage 2 (Bulacan, Calumpit, Guiguinto, Malolos, Plaridel, and Sta. Maria) commenced commercial operations on April 25, 2019.

Stage 3 is an expansion to the currently operational Stages 1 & 2 through the coverage of the remaining eleven (11) municipalities (Angat, Baliuag, Bustos, Doña Remedios Trinidad, Hagonoy, Norzagaray, Pandi, Pulilan, San Ildefonso, San Miguel, and San Rafael), with the following sub-components and timelines:

Stage 3a : (2021-2023) – Development of new source, treatment, and conveyance

Stage 3b : (2022-2024) –  Augmentation supply to Stages 1 and 2

Stage 3c : (2026-2028) –  Augmentation supply to Stage 3a



No. of Water Districts Served

Municipalities/ Water Districts Served



Balagtas, Bocaue, Marilao, Meycauayan, Obando, and San Jose del Monte City



Bulacan, Calumpit, Guiguinto, Malolos, Plaridel, and Sta. Maria



Angat, Baliuag, Bustos, Doña Remedios Trinidad, Hagonoy, Norzagaray, Pandi, Pulilan, San Ildefonso, San Miguel, and San Rafael